WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TREASURE

.

IS IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER

.

or maybe not. I love testing the limits, so here’s two treasures …

Amber

This first is Treasure Of The Spouse. She adores it, given her by a beloved good friend currently living in Australia—they grew up together as little girls thru school to adulthood and spent most of their time being tomboys on the beach. An amber necklace that was a wee bit too long for Spouse’s scraggy neck hence the separated bead(s). I love amber too, there’s something mystical about it that places havoc with my rationalism and I loooove deep warm colours.

AND NOW

for a couple of self’s very own treasures. The crystal ball complete with dents and dings was given moi by The Spouse years ago.

Can I gaze into it and see the future, or make contact with the dear departed, or otherwise do unworldly things? Not at all. I just love it, and have always loved genuine rock crystals of almost any kind. Sue me …

treasures

… and if you want a break from suing me, take a gander at what that ball is sitting on. It’s an ancient Roman oil lamp dating back about two thousand years (give or take a bit) and even though missing its handle still works. (I know I shouldn’t, but I did. Sue me some more …). I found it on an archaeological dig in an antiquary in Wellington (NZ), it wasn’t expensive and came complete with Certificate Of Authenticity. I treasure old things and in their presence let the mind run riot and the years run back.

That wee Treasure Chest was another gift from The Spouse. I keep my wedding and other rings in it when not being worn (and enough ready-use coins to top up the fob pocket when we go to town so I can feed the car park coin guzzler machines). I included it here ‘cos it seems germane to the challenge …

I treasure simple things, it’s just a pity I’m not able to get a usable shot of a soap bubble …

.

CARPE DIEM

.

 

2 thoughts on “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TREASURE

Leave a Reply

