Weekly Photo Challenge:

SATISFACTION

and it has to be a bit of a toughie (mostly because I am never satisfied with my snaps) but enough of my whimpering:  on with the show~!

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 16.35.53.png

You’ve seen this one before: I often try to capture the passage of time and this time I sort of succeeded. It was a huge cattle-truck combo slowing for the bend in the road outside Chub’s pub in Winton. He applied the anchors at the beginning (left end) of the red line and I got most of his slowing (I think).

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 17.06.19.png

An oldie (Olympus C740) but a favourite. Two white-eyes and only one apple. Brrr. Very early days, in fact one of my first dabbles in digital (does it show?). They finally stopped squabbling and shared … I was satisfied to have caught them at all, boom boom!

MOVING ON …

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 16.46.56.png

Not being much into the special effects side of things I couldn’t resist a dabble, and this one is better seen big screen. (For the technically minded, I pointed the camera and clicked the button … camera did the rest). I was satisfied.

I have yet to be satisfied with drops.

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 16.31.32.png

I see what I want, I know what I want, but I never seem to capture what I want. I know there’s all sorts of tweaks and fiddles available at the push of a button and the tweak of a menu, both pre and post capture but somehow I have this nagging feeling that to invoke such is ‘cheating’ …

Then I read that Ansel Adams on occasion sometimes spent four days or more closeted in his darkroom, tweaking, and on a single image (then I don’t feel so bad).

But satisfied?

I WISH~!

So back to the ol’ drawing board …

 

dodo

 

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge:

    1. Thanks, JZ. It was also pretty damned cold right then. Brrrr.

      I’ll use that image again, in a post on Time, sometime (eeek!).

  1. Oh, how I love the way you impart your thoughts on the image! I always see posts with pictures, but never any writing, and I always wonder what the photographer was thinking when he took the shot. That one with the birdies was my favorite…I got the distinct feeling that one wasn’t wanting to share! 😛

    1. We had a wee bird table set up in about the same place, in autumn. Those white-eyes (aka waxeyes) are very flighty in all meanings of the word, but one caught my eye once when we arrived home and I thought he may have been a bit unwell. He let me get right up to him and just bleared at me … then it occurred that he’d over-indulged in fermenting apple~! Not so much waxeye or whiteye as pie-eyed …

      1. I’d never seen one before; they are really beautiful birds. Hahaha, aw! Poor thing, he was delirious. 😛 Well, it made for some nice up close viewing of him I suppose. 😀

Leave a Reply

